the otherwhirled

where nothing is real, and nothing else is sacred.

Regarding My First Blogging Milestone

Sometime today, August 17, or tomorrow, the number of total visitors to this blog should reach the 10,000 mark. I mention it now, because my next three days are going to be rather hectic (as if my days are not hectic already!), and since my daily hits seem to jump around substantially, that milestone may actually be reached anytime between noon Friday and midnight Sunday.

It’s probably more information than you care about, but as you can see from my daily hits chart for the past 30 days, hits have been anything but consistent: in fact, they’ve been about as consistent as “teh funny” in my posts. As you can also see, there is a mysterious “W” in the middle of the chart. I was commenting to the Eldest Other-child the other day that the only thing I find displeasing about the way I blog is that I so often must look upon the dumbfounded countenance of our “Fearless Leader”, but even worse: I am cursed with his presence on the blog stats page as well.

My karma, as I may or may not have noted previously, stinks.

30 days of hits in the otherwhirled

Yeah, that’s not exactly the prettiest thing in the world, is it. But I guess it’d demonstrative of my male-ness. I have good days, and I have not-so-good days, and the good days are typically few and far between.

At any rate, in return for your continued visitation here, I will pledge to do one thing: From now on, I’ll start embedding the images here in WordPress or from my own servers (and there is still the possibility that I will move this to my own server as well) so that the images quit disappearing after the news photo sites I currently reference them from remove them to reduce their own storage overhead. I will also try to dredge up the missing photos from some of the more entertaining posts of the past and get them replaced, but I can’t really see myself doing that for each and every old post, sorry. As much as I enjoy the snarkery, I do have a life, and all….

Please accept my humble thanks for your continued patronage, and yes that’s even extended to those of you who are simply looking for nude photos of Condoleezza Rice. As well, my sincere gratitude to my guest-bloggers Tengrain and Dr. Monkey von Monkerstein. I suppose, theoretically, that I could have done it without you, but it certainly wouldn’t have been as much fun. And I get a secret satisfaction knowing that two of the top ten posts here on the otherwhirled are Tengrain’s. So, actually, I guess I couldn’t have done it without you, after all!

Being the benevolent commander that I am, I’m interested in your opinion about the contents of my posts. Do you feel I should stick to political things, or do you find my current practice of open-ended snarkery more fun? Feel free to voice your opinion in the comments below. Thanks again, everyone!

2007.08.17 - Posted by | blogging, humor

15 Comments »

  1. Don’t change a thing. What you do is great.

    Comment by Dr. Monkey | 2007.08.17 | Reply

  2. Great. Our plan is working. Keep infiltrating.

    Comment by Commander | 2007.08.17 | Reply

  3. very funny, Todd!!!

    Comment by commander other | 2007.08.17 | Reply

  4. cool beans dude. i am glad to help out although i’m a johnny come lately.

    Comment by fairlane | 2007.08.17 | Reply

  5. heh…that’s better than being a johnny-come-too-quickly, fairlane.

    Comment by commander other | 2007.08.17 | Reply

  6. […] JONESTOWN: Another Milestone for a Fellow Blogger! August 17th, 2007 Commander Other at Otherwhirled is turning 10,000 today. Well not really 10,000 years old, but his blog is about to hit the 10,000 visitor mark. […]

    Pingback by Another Milestone for a Fellow Blogger! « JONESTOWN | 2007.08.17 | Reply

  7. what in the hell is up with my ping?

    Comment by fairlane | 2007.08.17 | Reply

  8. i may be new but i am be the milestone! or at least close to it. i will be back as i try to follow any example set by fairlane!

    Comment by FranIAm | 2007.08.17 | Reply

  9. fairlane: yeah, that was weird, so i fixed it.

    franiam: i am honored by your visit. be careful following fairlane’s examples as a general rule, though. i hear he is (or was) responsible for many acts of wanton irresponsibility. although i must say, i truly admire him for that!

    clapso: thanks! yeah, wordpress has had some weirdness going on over last night and today. i gave up on three other posts, as i and several others are being ignored on the support forums. i think the wordpress crew is in England, though, so the time-differential may have something to do with it all…

    Comment by commander other | 2007.08.17 | Reply

  10. Hey, that opening line in fairlanes ping is a quote of one of my comments on his blog from quite a while ago! I hope you sent a bug report fairlane.

    There have been all manner of weird goings on at wordpress this day. I think matt has been hitting the bottle again 😉

    Any who, congrats on the 10k. May you get the next 10k in half the time it took to get the first 10k!

    The scientifically impossible I do right away
    The spiritually miraculous takes a bit longer

    Comment by ClapSo | 2007.08.17 | Reply

  11. Thanks Fran I am truly honored.

    The line from Clapso I actually added that to my blog description. It’s one of my favorite comments of all time. So don’t worry it’s not a “bug.”

    As for Commander and Fran, I learnt about ya’ll from Tengrain, and anything he says I follow.

    Comment by fairlane | 2007.08.17 | Reply

  12. I’m proud to be a guest member of Team OtherWhirled.

    Whatever I can do to promote your Primo Snarktitude is my pleasure to do.

    Regards,

    ‘Grain

    Comment by Tengrain | 2007.08.17 | Reply

  13. What Tengrain said. Congrats on (soon to be) 10,000.

    Comment by PissedinNYC | 2007.08.17 | Reply

  14. just want to congratulate you on your first big milestone and hope the feds in their righteous freedom of speechiness leave you alone!!!

    skoal

    Comment by victoria williams | 2007.08.17 | Reply

  15. Congratulations, CO. Don’t change a thing.

    Comment by Morse | 2007.08.18 | Reply


Leave a comment